“Dallas Cowboys Hold Eight NFC Titles, Yet None Since 1995”

“Dallas Cowboys Hold Eight NFC Titles, Yet None Since 1995”

Between the inaugural 1960 season and the 1995 season, the Dallas Cowboys participated in 16 NFC Championship games.

The first two occurred in 1966 and 1967 when it was still the NFL Championship game. These resulted in losses to the Green Bay Packers, who went on to win the Super Bowl against the Kansas City Chiefs and Oakland Raiders. After the NFL-AFL merger in 1970, the Cowboys played in 10 of the next 13 NFC title games, going 5-5 between 1970 and 1982.

However, a nine-year drought followed, with Dallas going 1-3 in playoff games during that period.

In 1992, the Cowboys initiated a streak of four consecutive NFC title game appearances, securing a 3-1 record. Since winning the 1995 NFC championship, they have played 28 seasons, accumulating a 5-13 playoff record from 1996 through the 2023 season.

Remarkably, they haven’t returned to the conference title game in these 28 years, prompting comparisons to the Israelites’ 40-year journey in the Sinai before reaching the Promised Land.

Reflecting on the earlier decades, the Cowboys hosted their first-ever title game in 1966 at the Cotton Bowl.

Their NFC title game record includes four wins out of five played at Texas Stadium and a 4-6 record in away title games, resulting in an overall 8-8 record.

The 1995 title game victory against the Packers remains the last NFC Championship game the Cowboys have played in.

Read more news on sporttoday.co.uk

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.